RSS Feed

Suicidal Bears

Posted on

At some point my mother and I were reading In the Night Kitchen to my daughter — my mother turned to me and said “Oh no, is this going to end up on your perverted children’s books blog?” (I hadn’t known I was writing about perverted children’s books!) But, she was right, it did. Part of the experience of reading children’s books (as reading anything) depends on the reader and his or her perspective. So while, as mentioned, I don’t understand how someone doesn’t find baking children a little weird (and nudity fine), some people have the opposite reaction. Some people don’t find either a problem (seriously people?). Turning to a different book by Maurice Sendak, I had never thought of the bear in Where the Wild Things Are as suicidal until hearing Christopher Walken read the story. And my mom thought I was dark!

2 responses »

  1. That’s an amusing video! But I don’t think the bear’s suicidal. It’s just a teddy bear. Nothing to worry about.

    Reply

What do you think?

