RSS Feed

Don’t Eat, Kiss.

Posted on

Children make you say the weirdest things and people have done some really cool stuff with this (see Design Inspiration’s post about Nathan Ripperger). For some reason, ever since she was little, my daughter has often tried to eat my face (go at it, Freud). When she was really little I think it had to do with comfort/exploration? (Feel free to analyze the photo yourself.) Now, I think (hope) she is kidding around. Regardless I don’t really want to use my face as a testing ground for how serious she is when she comes at me, roaring with her mouth open as if she is going to eat me. So we say “Don’t eat mommy, kiss and hug.” She often repeats this “Don’t eat the mommy, kiss.” The other day as we were reading Michael Garland’s Miss Smith’s Incredible Storybook, she started yelling “Don’t eat, kiss!!” at the wolf. So my daughter is identifying with the wolf and I am in the place of terrified Little Red Riding Hood? She really thinks the big bad wolf should kiss Little Red? I am terrified.

4 responses »

  1. Pingback: I did that! « Children's books

  2. Ha ha! That’s really cute and funny!

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Daddy’s Best Friend and Continuing Monkey Issues | Children's books

  4. Pingback: Daddy’s Best Friend and Continuing Monkey Issues | Children's books

What do you think?

