RSS Feed

Changing and Mother Stalking

Posted on

Kids change so quickly. If you are a parent and you have not heard this, then you either don’t know anyone or you never go outside your house. It’s true, they do change so quickly. My impression of some books also changes as my daughter changes. For instance, we’ve been reading Karen Katz’s Where is Baby’s Mommy? for a while. When she was little I thought, “Oh, so sweet! I can’t wait to be able to play hide-and-go-seek with my daughter, sounds so fun!” It is fun! But as kids grow more mobile you also lose the ability to stick them somewhere and have a guaranteed moment alone. I mean, maybe with crying, but at least be alone: be alone in the shower, be alone by one’s computer, be alone, just be alone. Now that my daughter is old enough to talk and walk, if I want to be alone and she does NOT want me to be alone it is very difficult to make happen (maybe this will be easier in a bigger apartment?). If I somehow trapped her in something so that I could take a shower alone I would still hear “Is your hair wet? Are you in the shower? Are you using soap? Are you washing your hair? Is your hair wet?” If I lock a door (because someone else is around to watch her) to try to grab some time for myself and my daughter would like to be with me she will not only knock on the door, but also (thinking I did not hear or that I am an idiot who does not understand knocking) then SAY “Knock knock I want to come in!” Yes, that is what knocking means, I know. Generally I really like spending time with my daughter so this occasional mother stalking isn’t a big problem, but I have to say that now when I read Where is Baby’s Mommy? I kind of feel like the mom isn’t playing hide-and-go-seek, but is actually hiding from her child. The end isn’t a happy moment in which the child finds the mom, succeeding at the game, but is a moment in which the mother lost — she needs a better hiding place to have a moment alone. They always look under the bed!

What do you think?

